News and Updates

The 2018 Cebu Young Writers’ Studio Fellows Announced

The Libulan Queer Collective, a writers bloc of queer poets, essayists, fictionists, and playwrights from the southern Philippines, is set to hold the 2018 Cebu Young Writers’ Studio, a regional creative writing workshop for emerging writers from Central Visayas, from 9 to 10 February 2018 at the University of Cebu-Banilad in Cebu City.

The writing fellows named for this year are as follows: Noemi Araneta Alcantara (fiction: novel in Binisaya), Kenneth Michael M Baba (poetry in Binisaya), Alsteine Joi Diapana (poetry in English), Maria Eloisa H Garcia (fiction: short story in English), Jorisse Gumanay (poetry in English), Maria Theresa C Lanit (poetry in Binisaya), Leah May Lim-Atienza (poetry in English), Ivanie Michmir (poetry in Binisaya),Claire Michaela M Obejas (creative nonfiction in English), Louise Francis P Ouano (poetry in English and Binisaya), Lady Isabelle Y Perez (fiction: short story in English), Sievney Klyze G Quidet (fiction: short story in English), Thomas Leonard Shaw (poetry in English), and John Rolly V Son (fiction: novel in English).

The panelists for this year?s workshop are poet-fictionist Jessrel Gilbuena and poet-essayist Adonis Enricuso, with essayist-editor Alton Melvar Dapanas, essayist Johanna Michelle Lim, and poet Arian Tejano as guest panelists. Fictionist-playwright R Joseph Dazo serves as workshop director. Ian Rosales Casocot of Silliman University – Tiempo Creative Writing Center will give the keynote address.